White House Photographer Pete Souza’s Year in Photographs 2012 by Pete Souza

Photo: Official White House photo by Pete Souza. President Obama's favorite photo of the year.

Photo: Official White House photo by Pete Souza. President Obama’s favorite photo of the year.

The White House has released a wonderful collection of photos from 2012 taken by White House photographer Pete Souza. Photography is an art form that’s always eluded me – I know how to point a camera, and I know what I enjoy in a photograph, but the alchemy that combines the two and would allow me to take a great photo myself has always been out of my grasp – but it’s hard to look at these photos and not be touched by the realness and beauty Souza managed to capture. Regarding the photo above, Souza said,

“The President pretends to be caught in Spider-Man’s web as he greets Nicholas Tamarin, 3, just outside the Oval Office. Spider-Man had been trick-or-treating for an early Halloween with his father, White House aide Nate Tamarin in the Eisenhower Executive Office Building. I can never commit to calling any picture my favorite, but the President told me that this was HIS favorite picture of the year when he saw it hanging in the West Wing a couple of weeks later.”

“Year in Photographs 2012 by Pete Souza” on the White House Flickr stream

Comments are closed.

